Thursday, August 13, 2020

Canadian Death Metal SADISTIC EMBODIMENT - Blood Spell - Out Sept 18th

For fans Gojira, Rotting Christ, Bloodbath, Kataklysm, Strapping Young Lad

Album Title: Blood Spell
Release Date: September 18, 2020
Label: CDN Records

The sadistic death metal quartet was originally conceived in Edmonton, Alberta. Although all Edmonton born half of the group now resides in Calgary, travelling frequently to join the others in crafting extreme musical works. Each member brings their own distinct flair to the music, live theatrics, and social media content.

Drummer Bryan Newbury (also known from Into Eternity, Untimely Demise) formed the project in the fall of 2017 by inviting Curtis Vieville and Helge Lipphardt to jam simple and catchy death metal. A couple of months later, Jason Cullen joined the group and then Nate Mandrusiak joined shortly thereafter, forming the five-piece that produced their Self-Titled (March 30th, 2018) and Blodørn (September 8th, 2018) EPs. Curtis Vieville left to travel for the summer of 2018, leaving the band to record bass and vocals for the Blodørn release on his behalf.

During the late fall of 2018, the group parted ways with Helge Lipphardt and brought on Curtis’ old bandmate Wally Fischer. Continuing their relentless musical onslaught the group wrote and released the EP Beloved Imprisonment on January 31st, 2019, showcasing their evolved sound. But the work was far from over and after a few gigs, the group began work constructing their first full-length album. During that period the band parted ways with their singer Nate in early 2020, and from thereafter the group became a three-pronged vocal assault team.

Completing their work in the spring of 2020, the milestone album “Blood Spell” was finally realized. As if sensing the impending debut, CDN Records approached the band with a record deal just as the final touches were being completed. And thus Sadistic Embodiment joined the CDN Records family.

Each release from Sadistic Embodiment grows in depth and complexity while maintaining simple and heavy death metal passages. They pride themselves on having catchy choruses intermixed with powerful and epic melodies. The newest material exhibits dark soundscapes with a lot of variation in song type and feel. Listen closely and you will find evil and pain lurking in the mix.

“Blood Spell” is due out September 18, 2020 via CDN Records.

2020 – Blood Spell – LP
2019 – Beloved Imprisonment – EP
2018 – Blodörn – EP
2018 – Sadistic Embodiment – EP

Music Placements:
70000 Tons of Metal ad 

Artist Endorsements:

Bryan James Newbury:

Endorsed Artist at SABIAN; Brand Ambassador at The Gilded Beard Endorsed Artist at Remo Inc.; Endorsed Athlete at HIGH on LIFE superfoods; Vater Drumsticks Canada; Endorsed Artist, Instructor and Clinician at Vater Drumsticks; Pearl Drums Canada Endorsed Artist; Instructor and Clinician at Pearl Drums; Endorsed Athlete at ALLMAX Nutrition

Jason Cullen:
Brand Ambassador at The Gilded Beard  

[Download Album Cover | Download Album Lyrics]

Album Title: Blood Spell
Release Date: September 18, 2020
Label: CDN Records

Track Listing:
1. Stranger (4:41)
2. Gallows Hill (5:33)
3. Catherine’s Braid (6:03)
4. Phantom Tormentor (4:41)
5. Nebulae (Call of the Void) (2:48)
6. Suicide Ceremony (3:09)
7. Global Enema (4:06)
8. Flesh Deposition (5:37)
9. Cerebral Termination (5:26)
Album Length: 42:08

Album Credits:
• All songs performed by: Sadistic Embodiment
• All songs written by: Sadistic Embodiment
• Produced by: Justin Bender and Sadistic Embodiment
• Mixed by: Jason Cullen and Justin Bender
• Mastered by: Justin Bender (Divergent Sounds)
• Album Artwork by: Demonika
• Canadian Content (MAPL)

Album and Live Band Line Up:
Bryan James Newbury (Drums); Jason Cullen (Rhythm Guitar); Curtis Vieville (Bass); Wally Fischer (Lead Guitar)

No comments:

Post a Comment