Saturday, August 29, 2020

Finland's Sinisthra (ft. Tomi Joutsen of Amorphis) Reissue “Last Of The Stories of Long Past Glories"

After the recent release of the new album 'The Broad and Beaten Way', Finland's Sinisthra featuring Amorphis vocalist Tomi Joutsen and Italian label Rockshots Records have joined forces for a reissue edition of the band's debut album 'Last of The Stories of Long Past Glories', out today August 28th, 2020.
Originally released in 2005, the new physical version of the album includes four bonus tracks: 'Ice Cube Sun" (demo version), 'Unrevealed' (demo version), 'Not For You' (unreleased track), 'To Have And To Hold' (unreleased track).

Today the band is releasing the lyric video of the unreleased track 'Not For You'.
Listen to it on YouTube.
Drummer Erkki Virta comments about the new release:

"Our debut album was released 15 years ago and now gets a reissue, with four bonus songs: "Not For You" was originally intended to be a bonus for a Japan release that never happened. Also included is our full "Empty Banalities Adorned With Dashing Eloquence"- demo from 2004, as well as the opening track of our first demo from 2001, called "To Have And To Hold". Revisiting these songs now, I think the album has aged rather well and only occasionally makes me cringe. The band was still finding its' feet but all the basic elements of Sinisthra were already in place. I'm happy that it's available again."

Orders of 'Last of the Stories of Long Past Glories" (reissue CD version) - including 4 bonus tracks - are available on Rockshots Records' official store:

“Last of the Stories of Long Past Glories” (standard version) is already available on digital stores:

Apple Music

Reissue Track Listing:
1. Coming Up Roses
2. Ice Cube Sun
3. Fearless Under The Falling Sky
4. To The One Far Away
5. Unrevealed
6. My Sweet Nothing
7. Fucking Fragile
8. Innocence…In A Sense
9. Completely Incomplete
10. Ice Cube Sun (demo version)CD version only
11. Unrevealed (demo version) CD version only
12. Not For You (unreleased track) CD version only
13. To Have And To Hold (unreleased track) 
CD version only

Sinisthra is:
Tomi Joutsen - Vocals
Markku Mäkinen - Guitar
Erkki Virta -Drums
Timo Vainio - Keyboards
Marko Välimäki - Guitar
Janne Telen - Bass
For more info:
SINISTHRA comes from Finland and has been in various stages of existence since 1999. Their style of music is basically metal, drawing from a wide source of different influences and blending them to a sound that can't really be compared to any one single band. Always quite melancholic, most of the time quite heavy, and often with strong shades of 70’s prog with lesser shades of 90’s grunge.
The name SINISTHRA derives from the Italian word sinistra, meaning "the left side" and representing the allegory of creativity, femininity, individuality and general free-thinking pathways of the Left Hand, without the hollow "satanic" or any other religious connotations. The lyrics veer away from most commonly used themes and focus heavily on more personal and intimate subjects. Sinisthra is all about contrasts, frail yet crushing, sad yet content, silent but roaring. Melancholy without utter despair. Darkness tinged with light. Gravel covered with honey. The only dogma is never to acknowledge musical boundaries, and never to use the words "love" and "death" in the lyrics.
The band released one album in 2005, called “Last Of The Stories Of Long Past Glories” to favourable reviews and got labeled “gothic metal”, somewhat misleadingly, but as the singer Tomi Joutsen joined Amorphis, his career skyrocketed and Sinisthra’s didn’t, so due to lack of time from his part, things slowed down. 
Now Sinisthra has completed their second album “The Broad And Beaten Way” and are ready to finally release it. The road has been long, winding and mostly uphill, and promises to remain so in the future as well.

No comments:

Post a Comment