Sunday, August 30, 2020

Nonexist: new album out today

Almost turning two round decades since he originally kickstarted the project, Johan Reinholdz is back with NONEXIST in 2020 for its’ fourth album, titled “Like The Fearless Hunter”. The record takes off in the dark and violent death metal vein of the last EP, which saw Reinholdz took over vocal duties, but also contains crushing midtempo-heaviness  (“Together We Shall Burn”), melodic thrashmetal-mayhem (“Strictly Sadistic Intent”), hyperspeed hardcore/punk-spiced violence (“Litany of Poison”) as well as sombre, progressive darkness (“Emerging from a World Below”) and even some instrumental shredding (“Fear Corrodes the Soul”).

The album is also graced and enhanced by the presence of some truly terrific guests: Mikael Stanne (Dark Tranquillity), Rogga Petersson (Merciless), Chris Amott (Dark Tranquillity, ex-Arch Enemy) and Markus Johnsson (Eucharist), to name a few.

"Still Alive" tracklist:
01. Strictly Sadistic Intent
02. Together We Shall Burn
03. Dark Satanic Mills (w/ Rogga Petersson)
04. Emerging From A World Below
05. Litany of Poison
06. Fear Corrodes The Soul
07. A Meditation Upon Death (w/ Mikael Stanne & Chris Amott)
08. Bloody Carnal Sorcery ((w/ Kalle Nimhagen)
09. Dead Black Embrace (w/ Markus Johnsson)
10. Scent
11. Cancerous Disembodiment (w/ Kalle Nimhagen)
12. Reduced To Ash (w/ Alexander Wittbom)

"Like The Fearless Hunter" is out now on CD, LP, and digital. Orders can be placed here.
Nonexist was formed in 2000 when Johan Reinholdz presented some death/thrash metal demo-tracks for Bengt ”Wez” Wenedikter of Swedish WAR-music (Darkane, Defleshed, Naglfar etc). Reinholdz' other band Andromeda had recently signed a deal with WAR and now it was time for Nonexist to sign the papers. Ex-Arch Enemy/Furbowl/Carnage vocalist Johan Liiva was recruited along with Dark Funeral/Defleshed-drummer Matte Modin. The debut album “Deus Deceptor” was released in May 2002 and, following the release of the album, Nonexist became nonexistent as the members went their separate ways: Reinholdz with Andromeda, Liiva with Hearse and Modin with Dark Funeral and Raised Fist among others. Reinholdz continued to write songs during the years to come, most of which were discarded though.

However, in 2009 a collection of Nonexist-songs emerged, the title “From My Cold Dead Hands” came about and Reinholdz started focusing on getting a sophomore album finished, while Liiva joined the band again. “From My Cold Dead Hands” was released in November 2012. In 2014 Nonexist started recording album number three entitled “Throne of Scars”. The style of the songs retained the atmosphere from the previous album; dark, intense, varied and heavy while also adding some new influences in the mix. The band signed a deal with Danish label Mighty Music, who released it in the autumn of 2015.

In November 2015 Johan Liiva quit the band and Reinholdz took over the frontman-duties doing both guitar and vocals in the studio and also live.
Johan Reinholdz: guitar, bass, keyboards and vocals
Live members:
Johan Aldgård: rhythm guitar
Linus Abrahamson: bass
Joakim Strandberg Nilsson: drums
“Listeners looking for really strong moments of melodeath are served plenty of them. Blabbermouth

Fueled by aggression, but nuanced by melody, “Like The Fearless Hunter” is nothing short of consistent and thoroughly engaging. Dead Rhetoric

Powerplay Magazine 9/10

Arrow Lords Of Metal 8/10

Metal Temple 8/10

Metal Hammer DE 5,5/7

Scream Magazine 4/6

Rock Hard Magazine 7,5/10

Metalnews,fr 85%

Time For Metal 8/10

Dargedik 7,9/10
NONEXST "Together We Shall Burn" lyric video
Buy Now

No comments:

Post a Comment