Friday, August 28, 2020

Out Oct 2nd - Canadian Progressive Death Metal - SKYLESS AEONS - Drain The Sun

EPK – Skyless Aeons – Drain The Sun (2020)

Album Title: Drain The Sun
Release Date: October 2, 2020
Label:  Self-Release

For fans Opeth, Dark Tranquillity, Death, Garden of Shadows, Dissection


Around 2014, guitarist Nicholas Luck and drummer Martin Burchill met as a result of an errant bus ride in London, Canada. At this time, Burchill was looking for a stable project after drumming in various rock/punk/metal bands over the last decade or so, and Luck, only 18 at the time, was looking to start a death metal band.

Vocalist Nathan Ferreira and bassist Steve Oliva followed shortly after and with a scathing collective disdain for the larger structures of society and a commitment to constant evolution in sound and ethos the band recorded and released the “Era of Famine” EP in 2016.

The band has already gained a reputation through local shows as one of the more unique and energetic death metal bands in the scene, opening up for artists such as Ashbringer, The Convalescence, Nesseria, and Killitorous – a wide variety of styles, yet somehow, Skyless Aeons shares musical similarities with all of them.

At a live show, one can expect certain synchronicity and chemistry that can only come from years of experience and practice feeding off of each other’s ideas. Couple that with vocalist Ferreira’s on-stage recklessness mixed with unusually sardonic and self-deprecating stage banter, and it’s no surprise that Skyless Aeons are gaining notoriety and drawing more and more people to their local performances as of late.

2020 brings a new album “Drain the Sun”; it takes a different approach, using much heavier and expansive riffing textures and shows refining and maturation of the band’s identity. It can best be described as “; progressive death metal” with some dissonant, doom-influenced leanings.

2020 – Drain The Sun LP
2016 – The Era of Famine EP

Shared Stage with:
Ashbringer, Nesseria, The Convalescence, Killitorous, Astaroth Incarnate, Lutharo, Kavara, Trilateral

“This debut EP by Skyless Aeons is monstrous. 35-minutes and four sweeping songs worth of intense songs blackened-death: riffs aplenty, interesting transitions, and solos smothered by a lead-heavy old-school sounding production. The vocals are inhuman and loud in the mix fluctuating from mid-to-high range shrieks similar to Anaal Nathrakh to mid-range growls. There are moments of real technical efficiency – think Gorguts and Mithras – along with an atmospheric undertone akin to Ulcerate and Flourishing. I highly recommend it.” – Akerblogger

“There’s a rich diversity to Skyless Aeons’ music, even though their material is cohesive and doesn’t feel the need to go into extra clean, girlfriend metal territories to get the point across. The four tracks (all between seven to eleven minutes) are progressive affairs without too much fluff. The guitars of Nicholas Luck alternate between early 90s tremolos, a modern dissonant approach to black metal and a healthy dose of melancholic Nordic melodic death metal and he plays everything well.”  – Metantoine’s Magickal Realm

Album Title: Drain The Sun
Release Date: October 2, 2020
Label:  Self-Release

Track Listing:
1. Ascension Towards Nothing (6:30)
2. A Consciousness Decays (7:09)
3. Go Forth and Multiply (3:19)
4. The Age of Regression (7:32)
5. Dimensional Entrapment (6:31)
6. Path of Desolation (6:15)
7. Drain The Sun (8:05)
Album Length: 45:23

Album Credits:
• All songs performed by: Skyless Aeons
• All songs written by: Nicholas Luck and Skyless Aeons
• Produced by: Michael Marucci and Eric Altomonte @ the Watershed, London, Ontario
• Mixed by: Michael Marucci @ Sonic Zen Studios, London, ON
• Mastered by: Nathan Boots @ Visceral Sound Studios
• Album Artwork by: Sam Nelson/Stigma Art
• Member of SOCAN
• Canadian Content (MAPL)

Album and Live Band Line Up:
Nicholas Luck – Guitars/Vocals
Nathan Ferreira – Lead Vocals
Stefan Oliva – Bass
Martin Burchill – Drums

No comments:

Post a Comment