Friday, October 2, 2020

Gwydion Gwydion Art Gates Records Release: 13 November 2020

Gwydion's journey started in 1995, a project founded by a group of friends that shared the same passion for metal and interest in Celtic culture. In 2007, Gwydion prepared to record their first full-length album "Ynys Mön". With Ynys Mön, Gwydion finally started to draw some international attention and ultimately received an invitation to make an European tour in October 2008 with top bands such as Lestorm, Svartsot and the Ragnarok Aaskereia's Tour. During 2009, Gwydion played in nearly all major metal Portuguese metal festivals, delivering a distinct sound and attitude, and received continuously great feedback. At the end of the year, Gwydion finished the recordings and production of their second album "Horn Triskelion" that truly represented fifteen years of accumulated experience and ideas. The readers of Portugal's biggest metal magazine LOUD magazine have chosen Gwydion to be the 2nd best band over 2010 + their album "Horn Triskelion" was considered the 3rd best album of 2010! In 2013, Gwydion presents "VETERAN", a slightly different musical-style, as the music is much more epic and "metal" than folk compared to the previous release. Since the beginning of the band, they had a very influential epic component in their songs, so naturally when they created "VETERAN", they decided to have a strong mixture of heavy metal riffs and epic/folk songs. VETERAN was nominated by Metal Storm website for best Folk Metal album of 2013. In 2018 with a new Album “Thirteen” which was divided in two parts, one talks about known Viking personalities and the other part about the Viking invasion in Portugal! The name “Thirteen” is related to this last part! Now the band completes 25 years of history and it was time to release a self-titled album to honor the god Gwydion and the band itself! It will be released through AGR Records November 13th, and it will be the most epic, dramatic, folk and strong album from Gwydion up to date!

Pedro Dias - Vocals
Daniel César - Keyboards
Miguel Kaveirinha - Guitar
Luis Figueria - Guitar
Bruno Ezz - Bass
Marta Brissos - Drums



No comments:

Post a Comment