Sunday, October 25, 2020

New Danish AOR sensations Boys From Heaven release debut album today

The spirit of the great eighties, captured in the modern studio. That is the essence of Danish rock group BOYS FROM HEAVEN. The band, captivated by the sound of the late seventies and early eighties - with stadium rockers like Toto and Journey - write, record and perform epic and grandiose rock music featuring the likes of lush vocal harmonies, wide piano, and synth hooks, fiery guitar solos and an oh-so-smooth alto saxophone. But the boys' inspiration is not just confined to the era of reverb and Ray-Bans. Traces of the classic rock sound, pioneered by bands like The Who, are also present in the septet’s signature song DNA.

All this is encompassed in the band's debut album, “The Great Discovery”, released today via Target Records. The band has decided to produce the album themselves, with lead vocalist Chris Catton spearheading the process as mixing engineer, and the results speak for themselves: a sound with the audacity of a record written in the 1980s, and the punch of an album produced in 2020. And the top of the cake: amazing artwork by Mario E. Lopez (Gloomy Grim, Evil Invaders, Toxik).

Boys From Heaven is the best of both worlds: whimsical and witty, yet technically skilled. Rock’n’roll, yet soft and soulful. All this coming from a band only in their 20s.

“The Great Discovery” is out today digital, CD, and vinyl formats by Target Records (Mike Tramp, The Savage Rose).

"The Great Discovery" tracklist:
01. The Ascent
02. Green Fields
03. Sunshine Soul
04. Burning Like A Flame
05. A Fool's Hope
06. Keep On Movin'
07. Memory
08. Only Child
09. Convictions
10. Old Days
11. Don't You Cry
12. Worlds Apart
13. Smile

"The Great Discovery" can be ordered here and here.

The release of the EP “No Way! But Anyway” put Boys From Heaven on the map in 2017, and in the two years that have followed since the band has gone on to perform at several well-established venues and festivals, such as Musikhuset Posten in Odense and Kløften Festival in Haderslev, as well as the one day festival Skodborg Parkrock, with over 3.000 festival-goers. There, the band performed alongside several famous artists, among others Danish rock giants Gnags. The boys also made it to the final of the Task Rock Band Battle 2018, held at the esteemed DR Concert House in Copenhagen, and gathered massive plays in national Danish radio along the way. Come 2020 and, after a dominating performance at festival Nordic Noise 2020 - Streaming For Vengeance, the Boys From Heaven secured a record deal with Target Records, for the release of their debut album.

Mads Noyé: keyboards
Mads Schaumann: guitar, vocals
Søren Viig: drums
Chris Catton: lead vocals
Esben Christensen: guitar
Jonas Klintström Larsen: saxophone
Andreas Valentin Berg: bass, vocals (on the album)
Morten Bille: bass (permanent member)

Buy CD
Buy LP

Official site

Bandphoto: Jakob Muxoll   //  Artwork by: Mario Lopez

BOYS FROM HEAVEN "Convictions" official video

These guys will do very well, and with the world we're in, might be where we should go. Simpler times.
Metal Temple 8/10

In some aspects it feels like they are just that – sent to us from Heaven as a gift

Scream Magazine 5/6

Arrow Lords Of Metal 8/10

Heavy Metal Webzine 8/10

United Rock Nations 4,5/5

Calles Rock Cörner 5,5/6

Glorydazemusic 9/10

Den Melodiösa Blog 9/10

Metal na Lata 9/10

AOR Land 8,75/10

Buy Now


No comments:

Post a Comment