Thursday, October 8, 2020

OCTOBER FALLS to release special acoustic album through PURITY THROUGH FIRE, reveal first track


Today, Purity Through Fire sets October 31st as the international release date for a special purely acoustic album from October Falls, titled Syys, on limited-to-199-copies digipack CD and digital formats.

By now, October Falls should require little introduction. Formed in 2001 by Mikko Lehto and expanding to a full band lineup later on, October Falls have built up a considerable canon of unparalleled power and passion, their epic, folk-inflected black metal both reverential of tradition whilst blazing new trails into the beyond. Amidst their all-enveloping album works, the band have also concurrently released somber fully-folk releases, displaying the depth of their character and the boundlessness of their vision. In short, October Falls have come to represent the enduring face of Finnish nature-oriented black metal.

Just this past May, October Falls released their long-awaited fifth album, A Fall of an Epoch, on new label home Purity Through Fire. Widely celebrated, A Fall of an Epoch displayed the "classic" October Falls sound, so it should be no surprise that it's soon followed by an expression of the band's fully-folk side. Syys is that record, comprising eight songs in 33 minutes for a fully immersive and utterly spellbinding experience. Even without vocals, Syys shows that October Falls can captivate and subsequently transport the listener like few other bands; even without aggression or normal "metal" instruments, too, the splendorous landscape laid bare before the listener is just as soul-stirring, if not more so due to its sparse 'n' Spartan construction. No need for distortion here, nor much beyond an acoustic guitar and extremely subtle atmospheric accoutrements: Syys stirringly sounds like its cover artwork looks, a portal to autumnal majesty beyond. Step into the forest and escape from modernity!

Take the first step with the brand-new track "III" HERE at Purity Through Fire's official YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

Tracklisting for October Falls' Syys

1. I
2. II
3. III
4. IV
5. V
6. VI
7. VII


No comments:

Post a Comment