Saturday, November 7, 2020

Darzamat - "A Philosopher At The End Of The Universe"(Symphonic black/gothic/dark metal)


The story of DARZAMAT, Polish atmospheric dark metal band, can be traced all the way back to 1995. After a few initial releases (In the Flames of Black Art, Oniriad and the MCD In the Opium of Black Veil), the founding member Flauros (voc) managed to gather musicians who have since been identified as the band’s core: guitar players Chris and Daamr, female vocalist Nera and keyboard player Spectre. The album Semidevilish, released in 2004, established the sound of the newly consolidated band and gave it strength to start appearing more regularly on stage. The following year saw the release of Transkarpatia, which proved to be a major leap forward. The album, produced by Andy LaRocque, the legendary guitar force behind King Diamond, was given the clarity and force it deserved. As a result, the name DARZAMAT started to be featured on posters for such European festivals as Rock Hard Open, Wave Gothic Treffen, Hard Rock Laager, S-Hammer Festival, Last Night on Earth, Dong Open Festival, Moscow After Midnight and Metal Head Mission. At that time, the band found themselves performing for an ever widening circle of audiences in Balkan states, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Belgium, Holland, Italy, France and Germany. Also around that time DARZAMAT embarked on tours supporting Sabaton in Benelux countries and Moonspell in Poland. The year 2007 saw the band perform on Winternachtstraum Festival and on the 21st edition of the venerable Polish Metalmania Festival, organized since the 1980s. This performance was documented on the DVD album Live Profanity (Visiting the Graves of the Heretics), released on both sides of the ocean. In the 2009 DARZAMAT landed a worldwide record deal with Massacre Records, a German label, and delivered the fifth album of its career, Solfernus’ Path, also made available in Japan. Solfernus’ Path marked the first time the band ever ventured into a concept album territory. Andy LaRocque moved from the production seat to the guest-musician spot and contributed a solo on ‘The King of the Burning Anthems’. Two songs—'Pain Collector’ and ‘Chimera’—was selected to promote the album and both were made into videos. DARZAMAT toured in Poland, Mexico, France, Czech Republic, Ukraine and Belgium, then returned to Poland to make an appearance at the Castle Party Festival. In 2011 the band took a long deserved break. Nera used her time away to focus on her solo project, NeraNature, which features gentler, atmospheric rock laced with electronics. She delivered no less than three albums so far, with the latest one, MagJa, released in 2018. Flauros, on the other hand, decided to bring back the black metal beast Mastiphal. In 2011, the fans were teated to Parvzya (Witching Hour), the first new full-length since the 1995 cult classic debut For a Glory of All Evil Spirits… In 2019 DARZAMAT announced a new album A Philosopher at the End of the Universe. The fans can expect another concept album, picking up the story right where its predecessor left off. Flauros, the main creative force behind the work, has revealed that this chapter takes place in London and that the lyrics for the album were penned by him and a long-time friend and writer, Jesion Kowal. Musically, the album opens a new era in DARZAMAT’s history—gone are the keyboards, up till now characteristically prominent. In their place the band inserts more diversified and complex guitar sounds. Pre-production for A Philosopher at the End of the Universe was overseen by Maurycy ‘Mauser’ Stefanowicz of Vader fame; production and mixing were handled by one of the most talented Polish producers, Jarosław Baran. The record is due for a much anticipated release in autumn 2020.


  • The sixth in history of the band and the first in eleven years - a new studio album by Polish Darzamat - one of the pioneers of atmospheric metal.
  • Album of the month in Polish Metal Hammer (October 2020)- „…All those who are willing to take a few moments to become familiar with this music will find out how powerful it is, constantly escaping the newly defined genres. One of this year's music favorites for me.”
  • A digital format and several physical formats: a CD digibook with a 20-page booklet, a limited, collector's vinyl edition in three colours with an 8-page booklet, a cassette tape and for the most demanding fans of the band - a limited edition in a special box with a few gadgets related to the band.
  • The album produced in the excellent Krakow studio Gorycki & Sznyterman by Jarek 'Jaro' Baran - one of the most successful Polish music producers. Pre-production made in London with the participation of Maurycy "Mauser" Stefanowicz, known from such bands as Vader, Dies Irae and Unsun.
  • Refreshed, world-class sound of the band, using classic rock and metal instruments and moving away from the use of keyboards.
  • Stylistic variety of metal music and more. Darzamat clearly distances itself from labeling its music and would rather go for a concept of ‘travelers in music’.
  • The concept of the album captured in an extraordinary philosophical and lyrical idea. The album also includes a fragment of a story straight from a classic Gothic novel, written by the singer and band leader, Rafał 'Flauros' Góral, together with his poet friend, prose writer and linguist - Jesion Kowal.
  • A professional photo session of the band made by Jeremy Astaszow from Astashow Studio and with the participation of the Nam-Tara fire theater.
  • The band is entering the stage of promoting the album with five music videos (including animated lyrics video).
  • For fans of Behemoth, Cradle Of Filth, Rotting Christ, Moonspell, Tiamat, Dimmu Borgir, Trail Of Tears, Dismal Euphony.
  • Websites:




1. Reminiscence

2. A Philosopher At the End of the Universe

3. Running in the Dark

4. Thoughts to Weigh on Farewell Day

5. The Tearful Game

6. The Sleeping Prophet

7. Clouds, Clouds, Darkening All

8. The Great Blaze

9. The Kaleidoscope of Retreat



Nera - vocals

Flauros - vocals

Chris - guitars

Markus - bass

Jacek Gut - drums


No comments:

Post a Comment