Thursday, January 14, 2021

Without Mercy Separate Themselves From The Herd w/ New Music Video "I Break The Chain"

L-R – Ryan Loewen (Bass) DJ Temple (Guitars) Alex Friis (Vocals) Matt Helie (Drums)
Photo Credit: Shimon Karmel

Unleashing their earth-shattering album "Seismic" this past November, Vancouver'sWithout Mercy has a new music video for their track "I Break The Chain" via its premiere on Decibel Magazine HERE.

"With this track, we pose the question of morality and becoming docile to the everyday routine. The chain that connects us and bounds us to a routine monotonous existence. The ignoring of atrocities just to keep the assembly line moving, ‘Don’t rock the boat’ mentality. What does it take to break from that chain and what would it look like?" adds the band.

Without Mercy's latest behemoth features nine assaulting grooving death metal tracks that even include special guests Jeff Loomis (Arch Enemy) on opening track "Thunderbird"and Chris Broderick (Act of Defiance) on "Disinfect The Soul".

Distributed by Bloodblast Distribution (powered by Nuclear Blast), "Seismic" follows the band's 2016 EP "Moucchido". 
The vast majority of the material for “Seismic” was written and rewritten multiple times over the past four years. Honed and tightened over tours and live performances, Without Mercy were unwilling to place “filler” to enhance anything. They came at this album with the best of everything they had after their inspirations were doing the same. The band shares their thoughts on the full length:

“We are beyond stoked to have our new album “Seismic” see the light of day. This album represents 4 years of solid work ethic and unwillingness to compromise even in the slightest. We’re trying to give the listeners and fans of the band a chance to hear what tenacity can sound like. Lyrics that are an honest take on issues, riffs that have been refined over time, drum parts, and rhythms that are not standard or washed out. Even the mixing team behind it has a resume as long as your arm. We pushed ourselves in every field of this record and now that it’s here, we can relive those moments with all of you.”

For fans of Cattle Decapitation, Pantera, Meshuggah, and Decapitated, “Seismic” is available on all digital platforms HERE. 

Physical CD available

Spotify playlist add HERE.

Uprooted - YouTube
Disinfect The Soul - YouTube, Playthrough by Chris Broderick - YouTube
Thunderbird - Jeff Loomis solo video - YouTube.

Track Listing:
1. Thunderbird (ft. Jeff Loomis) (4:53)
2. Abysmal (5:42)
3. Left Alone (4:00)
4. Wiindigo (4:55)
5. Disinfect The Soul  (ft. Chris Broderick) (7:18)
6. The Disaster (3:52)
7. Possessed (4:04)
8. I Break The Chain (4:44)
9. Uprooted (4:58)
Album Length: 44:29

- 30 - 

"Without Mercy’s New Album Is A Whirlwind of Sonic Punishment" - The Pit

"Right from the start (Uprooted), Without Mercy set the bar high for their extremity, aiming for something far more chaotic. The opening is a mix between the pure grind-death akin to that of Cattle Decapitation, and the math metal sound of Protest the Hero."- Metal Injection

"pay witness (I Break The Chain) to their thrashy death metal a la Cattle Decapitation, Meshuggah and Decapitated and watch as they adorn the blast beats and breakdowns with beer guts and brogues." - Decibel Magazine

"Overall, two elements really struck me here…one was the level of intensity, and the other the level of musicianship from the band. How they can remain unsigned is a mystery to me. They play with such a tight synergy that it’s almost like they can finish each other’s sentences before they even open their mouth." - Metal Temple

"While the heavy metal name generator might have had something to do with what this meaty metal unit called themselves, you can’t say it doesn’t fit. Without Mercy are pretty damn *ahem* merciless and to cap that off, their new album is so aptly titled. Seismic…a relentless powerhouse that is akin to tectonic plates smashing into each other. There is no fucking mercy and it’s fucking glorious. Excuse the swearing but that’s how this album makes you feel. It makes you feel like a beast. It makes you feel capable of taking on the world. It’s chunky, it’s thick, it’s chokingly devastating and undoubtedly one to be remembered." - Games, Brrraaains & A Head-Banging Life

"A merciless Vancouver-based Death and Thrash Metal unity is ready to strike us all once again with their newest opus, representing four years of solid work ethic and unwillingness to compromise even in the slightest." - The Headbanging Moose

"Without Mercy’s music is made for a wide audience. Seismic will please as much to pure violence lovers, as a crowd that fight following the catchy groove." - Acta Infernalis


No comments:

Post a Comment